http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

General Discussion Board \ Calculator Discussion \ hello

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).

AuthorComment
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:09 GMT
Total Posts: 27
hello calcgames.org. I am a noob, lol. let me tell you about my self. i am in grade 10 and my ti 83+ is my first contact with programming. i have acheived a certain level of knowledge of programing in basic. i can use functions such as output and all the primative ones and am pretty good at making things move on screen. but i am not nearly proficient enough. if anyone has any good links to websites or whatever that profide incredibly indepth information info programing please post. also my friend (also in grade 10 and slightly better than me) and i are going to be makeing a game. it will be a text image sort of game. it will be called "lee's dungeon"
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:27 GMT
Total Posts: 144
To bad you are a noob. You suck. Why do you even try. I once met a guy who was called the noob killer. I can give you his address if you want to meet him. Now just go just go.
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:28 GMT
Total Posts: 27
david you are as much a noob as me so you shut up.
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:28 GMT
Total Posts: 144
How do you know who I am?
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:29 GMT
Total Posts: 144
Are you stalking me
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
13:42 GMT
Total Posts: 27
i appolagise for my friend, he is helping me make my game and is a dork.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
14:02 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
http://tifreakware.net/tutorials/83p/

Knock yourself out.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
15:59 GMT
Total Posts: 1892
Welcome!
Zachary940
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 18 Apr 2007
19:01 GMT
Total Posts: 714
Welcome and feel free to ask questions

---
It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
05:44 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Yeah, ask away, but, unfortunately, you should be prepared to get sarcastic- and/or non-answers from everyone else. I know I do.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
15:55 GMT
Total Posts: 144
Hi I'm the guy who is making the game with him. I was wondering how you create a matrix and then get information out of it. I know how to use lists, but my experiments with matrixes so far haven't worked. Any help would be appreciated.
Zachary940
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
15:57 GMT
Total Posts: 714
1st what are you trying to do.
If your just storing vars then I would go with a list or a string
I don't like matrix s very much, all I use them for is maps.

---
It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
16:37 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Matrices are defined with dim( in this syntax:
{height,width}→dim([A-J])
Both the height and the width start at one, not zero.
To retrieve an element out of a matrix, use this syntax:
[A-J](row,column)
If you're familiar with the Output( command, this is very similar.

Everything else is under the Matrix menu ([2ND],[MATH]).

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
16:37 GMT
Total Posts: 144
I need to make a map where you can move around and if you go on a predetermined spot something happens. I could do it with some If and And commands but those are slow. A matrix would probably solve this problem. But I don't know how to use them as stated above. If their is a way to do this I don't know it....yet. Any help to speed the process of lessening my ignorance would be appreciated.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
16:50 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Here's a program that loops until a user-controlled character runs into a space already occupied in [A]:

DelVar [A] ;gets rid of previous [A], if it exists
{10,18}→dim([A]) ;It also fills up undefined spaces with zeros
For(C,2,9)
1→[A](A,1)
1→[A](A,18)
End
For(C,2,17)
1→[A](1,A)
1→[A](10,A)
End
For(C,1,10
randInt(2,9→A ;(bounds homescreen rows)+1
randInt(2,17→B ;(bounds of homescreen columns)+1
1→[A](A,B)
End
ClrHome
0→[A](1,1)
For(A,1,8) ;fills up [A] and homescreen with stuff
For(B,1,16)
If [A](A+1,B+1)
Output(A,B,"O"
End
End
1→A
1→B
1→D
1→E
Repeat [A](A+1,B+1) ;loop until you hit something
Output(D,E," ")
Output(A,B,"A")
A→D
B→E
getKey→C
A-(C=25)+(C=34)→A ;keep in mind that a true condition=1
B-(C=24)+(C=26)→B
End
ClrHome
Disp "WELL, YOU DIED.


---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
17:21 GMT
Total Posts: 144
Something is wrong with my calculator. When I type this in on the home screen, a syntax error appears with the cursor on the first square bracket.
{2,2}->dim([A])
And yes I have a TI-83 Plus.

Also another thing I have never found out is how to make a point on a graph be displayed by imputing the data on the Y= screen. I can only make lines.
Barrett
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
17:29 GMT
Total Posts: 1676
are you typing out [ A ] as separate characters?

That should be [A], the matrix. ( [2nd] MATRX ENTER ).... it's not 3 characters, it's 1.

---
-Barrett A
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
19:08 GMT
Total Posts: 144
oh ummmmmmmm yes, that might be the problem. I will now be changing my name and moving to Afganistan. Oh wait there isn't wireless internet their. Never mind.

gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
19:42 GMT
Total Posts: 144
I finished playing with the program that haveacalc posted up above. It works ok except that you die when you step on the space to the direct bottem right of the O and steping on the Os erases them.
Although if you change the line
Output(A,B,"O")

to
Output(A+1,B+1,"O")

it works. But some of the Os are off the screen causing an error so you have to change the For statements right above the Output line to reflect that.

Also I love the way you erased the tail that would have formed on the A other wise.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
19:58 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Whoops. :D The problem was at Repeat. It should have read "Repeat [A](A+1,B+1)". Also, if you care, I left out another part that prevents domain errors (it surrounds the matrix in 1's). I edited my post, so both problems are fixed.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
gulyman
Goliath
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
20:45 GMT
Total Posts: 144
yeah it would probably help if I knew how to fill a whole row or column with 1s. I was also wondering if you could put a few 2s randomly into the matrix and it would display an X.Then when you step on one you get a point or something.
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
21:09 GMT
Total Posts: 27
hello once again, i need to know something. if i display an "O" (representing an obstacle) on the screen and a move towards it from the right i would then add one to Y so that i stay in the same place and not move onto it, but how can i make it so that when i move onto it from above it will add 1 to X so that i appear to stay in the same place. how can i make something so that you can move at it from several differant directions but still remain in the same spot previously ocupied. and how do you make save slots or whatever. also does anyone know of any websites that are good for explaining and teaching basic.
coolethan
Marine
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
21:18 GMT
Total Posts: 27
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 19 Apr 2007
21:32 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
Please use the "Edit" button instead of double posting. I already linked you to website in my first reply.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?





Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives Copyright © 2002-2019 CalcG.org