http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

User Forums \ TI-Freakware Projects \ Pokemon Purple

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6

AuthorComment
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 10 Mar 2007
06:47 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Heh, might as well re-introduce Pokemon Purple here. :P

Pokemon Purple is my version of the original red and blue gameboy games. My version will allow you to play through one or the other on the calc, without having to switch programs, etc.



Currently, Pokemon Purple boasts basic routines not seen in any other game.

These include:

A BASIC hex to sprite interpreter, that is quite fast on the 83+SE, here is some screenshots of the ID Card:


Pokemon Purple also boasts the first ever BASIC scrolling menu, which gives this game a similar look and feel to the original. Here is a screenshot of me scrolling through the names in the pokedex:

As to other aspects of the game, Pokemon purple uses a heavily modified version of the RPGSK, though I have plans on writing a dynamic scrollable engine for walking. I just have to get motivated to do it. Anyways, some shots of Pallet town:





Here is the items menu, showing the page turning feature:

Here is a screenshot of the dialogue system:


I am currently working on the list and pokemon data. This will take a while to get all programmed in, as there are currently 30 lists, 25 of them have 151 elements. Once that is complete, I will try to make it so you can get your first pokemon, view it in the party menu, and maybe even battle.

I am hoping to make the next demo rock your world. :)

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Barrett
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 10 Mar 2007
08:03 GMT
Total Posts: 1671
images aren't allowed ;)

yet...

I'll try to think of a good way to allow them.

Edit: ok now they work... <img (colon) (source)>

---
-Barrett
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 10 Mar 2007
13:28 GMT
Total Posts: 1109
It all looks great so far. If you don't mind me asking though, why not use this for doors?

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 10 Mar 2007
13:46 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Thanks Barrett, you rock! ^_^

haveacalc: Because, when I get that far, that will indicate stairs. :P If I could figure out how to get the graph style icon that looks like a stairs...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 11 Mar 2007
05:29 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
You talking about $EB?




I don't think there's a token representation of that character, so you probably won't be able to store it in string.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 11 Mar 2007
12:26 GMT
Total Posts: 689
3fg? Don't you mean E8?

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 11 Mar 2007
19:34 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Yes 3fg, that is the one that I wanted, and I believe you are correct, it isn't available for a string, which is why I went with 7f. I have thought about using 06 and 07 for the stairs... not sure yet. I will try to decide that before I get into that.

Right now, I am rewriting the New/Continue system. Major pain there...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
13:09 GMT
Total Posts: 689
I may be able to give you an extra incentive to "motivate you to do it"...as I believe you requested earlier...

That is, as soon as I figure out how do do motion screenshots...

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
13:45 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Actually, that is something I am going to work on, once I get the next beta out, that has the pokemon battles available.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
13:52 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Cool. Well, I might as well spill the beans now, although I have no motion screenshots...

I'm making a Pokemon game-thing myself: Pokemon Brown.

It's kind of a hybrid of Mystery Dungeon, standard Pokemon, and generic RPGs a la Final Fantasy.

You play as a pokemon whose father, who slayed some random other pokemon long ago, is slain himself, presumably by a lowly Ekans. You rise up through the rank-things, defeating three bosses, before you get to the final boss.

I'll post screenshots once I can do moving screenshots; that is more than necessary in my case.

It isn't nearly as amazing-quality as yours though.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
14:48 GMT
Total Posts: 413
lol, well, thanks for the compliment. I am trying to make the game as complete as possible.

Yours sounds interesting, though I haven't played the Dungeon games.

If you need to make screenshots, use CalcCapture, or if you are using PindurTI, just press the Tab button on your computer to capture images.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
16:09 GMT
Total Posts: 689
OK, but I then need an emulator.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 12 Mar 2007
19:18 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Nevermind, I have the emulator. I was apparently trying to get moving pictures done before, but I just gave up when I couldn't find a rom. Found one now, though. I'll update my previous post soon, with pix.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 13 Mar 2007
05:45 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Well, make sure to start yourself a topic for it. ;)

Anywho, still trying to decide how I want to rewrite the New continue system, though all the lists are now being created with no problem...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 13 Mar 2007
05:51 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Actually, I'm trying to get my own user forum even as we speak.

How about having the new game system spawn new lists and run the game from the beginning, and the continue system use a number in one of the lists to determine which area you're in, and which tile or whatever?

Actually, you're probably doing that now. Scratch that.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 13 Mar 2007
06:00 GMT
Total Posts: 413
I already know what I am going to do now, since my other idea is impossible in BASIC.

There are over 30 lists currently, most of them have 151 elements. These are all created, and then archived, when starting with the New option. The Continue option is going to have to check something... Not sure what yet. I think I will have it check to see which version you have chosen to play... That would be a good indicator if you have started a game or not...

Oh wait... I just realized... if something is screwed up, and you want to go back to a certain point... -.- dangit, this is going to be a memory hog... :'( This means I will still need the second set of lists... Gah...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 13 Mar 2007
13:38 GMT
Total Posts: 689
How about making it a backup group of lists? You can have, say, the save file before the previous one in it, and have copies of the respective pokemon, location, progress, etc. lists in it.

Oh, and I'm getting my own forum: Meganerd Studios. Look for Pokemon Brown, and probably a few more projects, in it.

I'm having trouble with VTI; it doesn't work properly on 98 and when I tried to transfer it to my PC with XP it glitched up on me. So now I think I have to redownload it... ¬_¬

And I'm grounded, so I temporarily don't have mod powers on my own pc so I can't install TI Connect and probably VTI anyway...

The pictures will take a while.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 14 Mar 2007
06:42 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
But if he needs to access the other lists, grouping them will make them inaccessible. Have you thought about using Celtic, tifreak8x? You might already be using it.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 14 Mar 2007
07:47 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Oh, yeah, I forgot about that program, I will have to see if it will help with what I need. :) So far, the only asm program being used is Resource.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 16 Mar 2007
15:18 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
Celtic is nice. If you use that you won't even need to bother with lists execpt as temporary storage if they're faster than using Celtic.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 16 Mar 2007
19:21 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Nice. Downloading that now ^_^

Maybe this will help me get back on this project...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Zachary940
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 16 Mar 2007
20:38 GMT
Total Posts: 712
What does it do exactly?

---
It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 16 Mar 2007
21:15 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
It allows you to read and write to BASIC programs and I believe appvars, even if they're in the archive. It makes writeback and other forms of dynamic storage and memory management way easier. Writing to BASIC programs really opens up a new area because workarounds for things like this that were too slow can now be done as fast as any other BASIC command.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Mar 2007
04:59 GMT
Total Posts: 413
My only concern is figuring out how to store the contents of a list to a string to add to the program. I am sure it can be done, just have not done it before, so I will have to do some playing around with the code tonight...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 17 Mar 2007
14:22 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
If the number you want is in A

{0,1 -> L1
{A,A -> L2
LinReg(ax+b) L1,L2,Y1
Equ>String(Y1,Str1
sub(Str1,4,length(Str1)-3 -> Str1
Delvar Y1

You don't have to delete until you've done the last one unless it's drawing on the screen. This solution is fast, but is probably best for opening and closing and not using while actually in the game.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Mar 2007
19:42 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Weregoose made this one up, so it would practically work right away with celtic: Optimize pastebin

I will check out yours, see if it is faster/better.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 Mar 2007
17:56 GMT
Total Posts: 413
bwhahaha, I have the basis for the system I plan to use down now. The plan:

I will have the saved data stored to a program, or I might even go appvar, not sure yet.

The actual data will be stored in the lists. These lists will be created once on start up, and checked for integrity each time it is run. It will slow the game down slightly, but there is no other option for it.

When saving, then it will be a matter of sending the data back to the program/appvar, and then archiving it.

I think this will be the best way... Opinions?

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Mar 2007
19:32 GMT
Total Posts: 1109
It all sounds fine! My one idea for improvement is for the Pokémon renderings. I don't mean to plague you with mindless optimizations, but wouldn't it make more sense to store the poképictures (nee!) as lines, rather than pixels? It just seems like they would take up much less space...

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 19 Mar 2007
20:18 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Not really, there are too many spots in each pic that would require lots of Pt or pxl commands.

But also realize, unless you have dled the newest BASIC Pokedex program, you haven't seen the optimized version of the sprites.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 19 Mar 2007
21:05 GMT
Total Posts: 1109
Why not combine lines and pixels?

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 20 Mar 2007
08:09 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Trust me, it would take far too much memory to do so, and I do not have the patience to go through 200 pics and change them to line commands. Just isn't going to happen. I managed to get the sprite data down to 24k, that is about as good as it will get.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 22 Mar 2007
08:17 GMT
Total Posts: 413
BWhahaha, Iambian is awesome. He created a "module" to go with Celtic to change a list to a string, and is uber fast. :) Now I can go about rewriting the rest of the save data routine. ^_^

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 22 Mar 2007
10:11 GMT
Total Posts: 1109
Party!

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 22 Mar 2007
12:43 GMT
Total Posts: 689
banjo2E grabs a lampshade-shaped party hat and pulls a full DJ console out of his pocket, then gets behind the console and starts up a generic rock ballad

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 23 Mar 2007
05:34 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Save system is going together fairly smoothly. I have the first 8 lists saved into a program, which takes roughly 5k in the program. The lists were normally 13kb, but when sent to the program to be stored, they are only600 bytes, give or take a couple bytes. ;) And this is if they all have 3 digit numbers stored in the list. The smaller the numbers, the less room it will take in the save programs, to be sure.

Once I get the program to save all the lists, and recall them, I will see about setting up an indicator bar of sorts, to show saving and loading progress. This way, the person doesn't think the calc has frozen on them or anything...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 25 Mar 2007
22:20 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Update:

I have found and killed a bug that was causing problems in the text display, when it was sped up.

Also, the status bar has been created for the save system, though I sort of forgot to program in the save detection, so, that is what I will be doing tomorrow, to add that in and see what happens. :)

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 15 Apr 2007
18:07 GMT
Total Posts: 413
It is a sad thing when a bug that is as big as life stares you in the face, and you still fail to see it. I was having problems with the save system, mainly with the fact it would not save to the 4th save program. After staring at the code, and finally reading it and comparing it to parts that were known to work, I found the error. I had forgotten to set theta to 1 so Celtic would know to write to the program.

Now to figure out why the prior save detection system is broke, and after that, the continue system. It should just be a reverse of the save system.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Zachary940
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 15 Apr 2007
19:36 GMT
Total Posts: 712
ahh don't worry. Once I was using PHP and kept getting an } err. I stared at the code for an hour, when I finally realized I forget the ? in <?php

---
It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 8 May 2007
05:36 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Well... How to say this... I am terribly unhappy with the current saving system, and will most likely be just as unhappy with the speed of the continue system. To remedy this, I am going to rewrite the save syste yet again, but this time, I have an idea worth exploring :)

each pokemon will have their own individual list. the 6 party pokemon will be saved to individual lists, while anything > than 6 will be stored to the PC boxes, just like in the original. This way, I won't have any problem with needing hundreds of lists, and a person can catch 2 of one type of pokemon. :)

So, I will see about getting this set up, and this will hopefully cut saving time down to just a few seconds, instead of 2 minutes... -.-

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 8 May 2007
09:23 GMT
Total Posts: 1109
How will you go about reading and writing from custom lists without doing an "If" for each one (for the list's name, I mean)?

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 8 May 2007
12:07 GMT
Total Posts: 413
The party pokemon will just be in lists P1-P6, or something to that effect.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 10 May 2007
05:47 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Well, I managed to get the "New Lists" program complete, now down to 273 bytes instead of the 800 bytes it used to be. Also saved 150 bytes by getting rid of all the lists and freeing up room in the VAT.

I have also decided that I can have up to 35 pokemon per PC box, though it might be better to just have 30 per box, and have 7 boxes, which would give room for 210 pokemon, plus the 6 party pokemon.

Any thoughts?

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 10 May 2007
14:30 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
42nd response.
Also that seems like more room than you'll need, but ok.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 11 May 2007
05:43 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Well, if you consider the original has about twelve boxes and about thirty per box...or at least, the advance ones have that...

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 May 2007
13:51 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Well, save system now saves your game in 8 seconds, much better than the original 50-60 seconds it used to take. I think the save system rewrite was worth it...

Now to finish the loading program...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 17 May 2007
15:21 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
Way better.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 May 2007
08:22 GMT
Total Posts: 413
I just got to thinking, I should probably make it show the data like the originals did, huh? Make the game more realistic anyways. I guess for the time being, it would just need:

"Ash"
"Pokedex"
"Badges"

And for the 84+ only edition, I can include:

"Time"

Oh wait, that wasn't supposed to be revealed yet... :P

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 18 May 2007
09:12 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Actually, the 84+ clock sucks overly, and I'm surprised anyone uses it. Every time the RAM resets so does the clock. It's sickening. I just turned it off out of disgust.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 May 2007
12:52 GMT
Total Posts: 413
Hmm, well, that is not what I had planned, as I was going to use the timer functions to keep track of time played.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 18 May 2007
22:34 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
You can hax the OS to not reset the clock at ram clear.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6



Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives | File Upload Copyright © 2002-2011 CalcG.org