http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

General Discussion Board \ Calculator Discussion \ TI-84 PC Connection Probs

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).

AuthorComment
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:04 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Hey there-

I recently bought a TI-84 Plus Silver Edition, and I can't seem to get TI Connect to recognize that I have a calculator plugged in. When it's searching for the device, it's only searching for COM2, COM3, or COM4- not any of my USB ports (which is how I am connected). I've tried all day to correct this problem... Reinstalling the USB ports and everything. Nothing seems to work! Any ideas on how to solve this problem? :)


Thanks! (I run on Windows XP)
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:07 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Plug in the USB cable. But seriously, are the USB ports enabled? Is the calc plugged in properly?
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:25 GMT
Total Posts: 14
lol, the USB cable IS plugged in- To both my computer and the calculator. (Although the connection seems a little flimsy). I'm pretty sure I have everything all latched in correctly. I even held it in securely as it was searching for the device. When I plug it in, I don't get a sound signal from Windows XP telling me that I've plugged something in... But maybe everyone's is like that.
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:27 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
I get a sound with my 89T and the USB.
Try e-mailing ti-cares@ti.com
they can support that directly...
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:30 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Am I supposed to plug in something to the slot that says I/O?

I e-mailed them earlier, but I was hoping for a faster resolution to my problem, that's why I came here- hehe :)

[Edited by Calculated on 16-Aug-04 01:30]
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:37 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Oh- Hey! Another cable came with it- It's a lot shorter- do I need to use it? I thought it was just a link cable... But it has the USB insignia.
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:45 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
With 89T you can use either one, the mini-usb or the TI-link. Make sure your calc is turned on and at the home screen when you try to connect. TI-connect does take a while to find it but if it can't find it should show a small popup window called "communications settings" where you should be able to choose how your calc is connected to the computer. Also, i hope you followed TI's directions on how to install TI-connect and drivers for the calc since order of installation DOES matter in this case. Btw, you can also access the communication settings window by going to Tools->Options and then click the "communication settings" button on the bottom of the screen.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:58 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
OH, yeah, I had the same problem, you have to follow TI's instructions....
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
16:58 GMT
Total Posts: 14
You mean I can actually connect the mini-usb to my computer? I don't see anywhere it would fit, heh. I've uninstalled, and reinstalled both TI-Connect and my USB drives in the order it told me, but it's still not recognizing it. When I go to the communication settings, the only options are COM2, COM3, and COM4. :( I bought the TI-84 while I was out of town, I hope I don't have to return it. Last night I mistakenly plugged in the calculator before installing the software, but I've already reinstalled the USB ports- so that shouldn't be the problem.
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
17:17 GMT
Total Posts: 14
I just cleared everything, inserted the TI disc, and followed every direction given. I got the same result. :(
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 15 Aug 2004
19:40 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
No mini-usb cable you get is for calc to calc. For computer you'd need a mini-to-regular usb cable. Either way, it seems that there's something wrong with your USB because my ti-connect detects usb just fine. Is your ti-connect software at its most recent version? Have you tried lugging some other device into your usb and make sure it works? Does windows detect your ti-connect cable when you connect it? Have you tried another usb port to eliminate hardware problems?
Please try the above stuff, I hope it moves us somewhere closer to figuring out this problem.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 16 Aug 2004
19:54 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Well,I spent a good hour and a half today on the phone with the folks at TI. They told me to return the calculator. However, I think I may have discovered the problem. My USB ports run on FireWire technology... It shows up under "IEEE 1394 Bus host controllers" when I go into the Device manager, not USB controllers. Is there any way I can fix this?
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 16 Aug 2004
21:53 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
You have a firewire usb adapter...interesting coz i've never seen anything like this. Are you sure your drivers aren't screwed up or anything like that? It's unlikely that your calc is the source of the problem. If those a real usb ports then you may want to try reinstalling the driver or go run find new hardware app and see if it discovers the usb controller.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
06:46 GMT
Total Posts: 14
lol, the thing is- I've got a printer, scanner, and a web camera all plugged into my USB ports right now. They're working fine. I've even been switching the plugs around to see if it might be one particular USB port with a problem. =/
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
07:38 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
you have a usb link cable right (one with that transparent rectangular plastic thingy on it)? if so, then your computer should detect it as a new device when you plug it in. if it doesn't but you know your usb ports are working then there's possibly a problem with the link cable itself and you should just have TI replace it for you.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
ShockTroop
Goliath
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
11:39 GMT
Total Posts: 170
Would the newly released TI-Connect 1.5 help with this issue at all?
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
19:20 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Hm, maybe...the version he had before is Beta, so maybe.
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
19:59 GMT
Total Posts: 14
I already installed the new one they have on their site- no luck. :( Yeah, the link cable problem seems to make sense... The connection is pretty flimsy, too. I stick it in my calculator, pick it up, and it falls right out. I'll exchange it Saturday at Target (I should be able to if the product is faulty, right?) and see if that solves the problem. My USB ports recognize all devices that have been plugged into them except for this. I'm also starting to think that the "IEEE 1394 bus Host Controller" in the device manager might have come with my computer, not the calculator. :p

Hey- Allynfolksjr- I saw a post where someone told you to change the icon with the person looking through the lock... Why would someone find that offensive? lol

[Edited by Calculated on 18-Aug-04 05:02]
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Aug 2004
20:04 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Oh, it was another avatar that was in question. And I was asking why someone else told them to change it.
JcCorp
Probe
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
04:27 GMT
Total Posts:

Edit
actually, it was originally a cross that turned into a nazi symbol... it offended me at least... how come no one else saw it?
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
09:51 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Oh, wow, I didn't see it. They must have changed it by the time I got online. oh, wow, I hit 1000 posts and didn't notice it until now.

[Edited by allynfolksjr on 18-Aug-04 18:53]
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
16:09 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
Yeah, Target will give you an exchange calc. Since you've said that other usb devices work despited all the bs with usb controller being absent, everything points out that cable or calc link port may be faulty. Well, let us know if it works once you get a new calc. Good luck!

Btw, I didn't see that avatar you guys are talking about...Please report anything offensive or bad to me asap. You can either use email or PM feature of the forum.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
17:45 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
It seems like it was changed PDQ, I never saw it...
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
20:32 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Well, I took the calculator to another computer and it gave me the same problem... So I figured it was the link cable like you guys were saying. I bought a new calculator, and guess what.... SAME PROBLEM!! I think I'm going to cry... and pull my hair out... I mean... I don't see what else it could be?!?! Even Texas Instruments is baffled! :(
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
21:07 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
Strange...are you trying to connect using a usb hub or anything of that sort? You're also 100% sure you've successfully installed the drivers for the link cable?

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 18 Aug 2004
21:13 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Wow, thats really odd. Did you try it with another comp with your new calc? Maybe the calc and your comp were faulty....
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 19 Aug 2004
10:19 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
He just got a new calc and same problem. Now that he tried a new calc it may actually be something with his usb port of link drivers he installed. Testing it out on a different computer would certainly be a good idea.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 19 Aug 2004
21:26 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Nonono, I already DID try it out on another computer, with the software from TI.com and everything! Same problem!! I guess it's something that I am doing wrong? :( This is really upsetting me. I have a few teachers this year with the 84+SE... Maybe they can assist... Any more ideas? Zkostik, what was the thing you were talking about... Installing the drivers for the link cable?
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 19 Aug 2004
21:54 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
In a case like this excersize your computer and your calculator. this is very odd, if you've been following TI's instructions. Very odd. Well, i durno.
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
09:32 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
Well, this is what was said about 83+ when I got it. Instructions specifically called to install link cable drivers before ti-connect or else it will not detect your calc. Try uninstalling the whole business and installing the link software first and then reinstall ti-connect.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
15:15 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Link software... I don't know anything about link software? Tell me more! :D I put in the CD and it said the first thing to do was install TI Connect. (Although I got the version I currently have on the internet)
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
16:38 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Link software is TI-connect, TI-graphlink (Obsolete with connect being released, but still widely used. It has no USB support), and other 3rd party calc<-->computer linking software.
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
18:52 GMT
Total Posts: 14
Well, yes... I do have TI-Connect installed... Is that all I need?
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
19:25 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Ok, this is a very important step. First, did you NOT plug in your caulactor to the computer, but installed TI-connect? Thats how you're supposed to do that.

Then, if you did that above step correctly, maybe try 'Add new hardware', that might fix your problem using a NT computer (including xp).
Calculated
Probe
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
21:29 GMT
Total Posts: 14
AHH! I finally got it! It works now! I'm about to scream! :D I was reading some help files on HP.com, and it told me that if a USB device won't work, go into Device Manager and unclick "Allow this computer to turn off the device to save power"... I don't know why that fixed it, but it did! Hurrah!
spiral
Wraith
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
21:32 GMT
Total Posts: 958
that's a weird setting, never heard of it before.

A common problem with USB connector cables is people plug them in before the software is installed, and if your computer recognizes it and installs improper drivers it's a pain.
zkostik
Carrier
avatar
Posted: 20 Aug 2004
21:48 GMT
Total Posts: 2485
Ohh, silly me I guess its been some time since I've installed my link cable stuff. I thought there was like a driver for it or something...erm...maybe that was just ti-connect by itself afterall... Sorry if I confused anyone.

---
09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 21 Aug 2004
10:47 GMT
Total Posts: 1891
Wow, what a odd solution, but then, computer problems can be fixed in the oddest ways...I've found seeminly unrelated settings can solve a problem I've forgotten about that I found a workaround weeks ago. :-)

Well, it's good you finally got it fixed, you may want to report the solution to TI, they might be interested in it.
Ray Kremer
Ultralisk
Posted: 24 Aug 2004
08:53 GMT
Total Posts: 310
>unclick "Allow this computer to turn off the device to save power"

That's a new one for me, too. Thanks for finding it, I'll be adding it to my FAQ.





Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives | File Upload Copyright 2002-2011 CalcG.org