http://calcg.org/newlogo2.png Not Logged in.
Login | Register

User Forums \ TI-Freakware Projects \ Pokemon Purple

Click here to log in (you must be logged in to post comments).
Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

AuthorComment
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 19 May 2007
17:51 GMT
Total Posts: 419


This is a concept of the party selection screen. Will hopefully have it so the program can draw it fairly quickly in the next day or so...


Edit:

Something a little closer to being permanent:



---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 20 May 2007
11:52 GMT
Total Posts: 689
I don't suppose you'll add a new area to the game in which you may catch the starter pokies?

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 20 May 2007
14:55 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Nope, you will have to trade for them.

Edit:

New screenie:



---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 21 May 2007
05:43 GMT
Total Posts: 689
So...they all have full HP...but Mew's bar is empty...without being empty...

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 21 May 2007
12:47 GMT
Total Posts: 419
it is a concept shot, not an actual shot, I have not added anything to the HP bars.

Also, things have slightly changed yet again:



This is what I will be going with, so I can continue development of the game.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 23 May 2007
19:42 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Well, here they are, I made 3 to show how, just by manipulating the PRTY list, you can set up the pokemon in the order you want. Of course, that will work within the game, I just have to program that. ;)





---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
allynfolksjr
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 23 May 2007
19:54 GMT
Total Posts: 1892
Very nice!
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 23 May 2007
20:18 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Kick-arse.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 24 May 2007
07:56 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Thanks. :)

Gonna try to run the programs by weregoose, see if he sees any optimizations to the programs...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 11 Jun 2007
10:10 GMT
Total Posts: 419


Got the dynamic menu working, somewhat. Just got to put in the info for it to look for...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 11 Jun 2007
10:16 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Where all are you talking about this? So far, I've seen it on here, Cemetech, Revsoft, Maxcoderz, and your own site.

It looks great, though.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 11 Jun 2007
13:21 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Pretty much every calc site, cause some people don't visit other sites...

work resumes on the rest of the dynamic menu...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 13 Jun 2007
13:18 GMT
Total Posts: 689
The second one appears to be the one that works perfectly.

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 13 Jun 2007
13:19 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Yes, that one has the snuggest fit. Now, if Dan wanted to add more to the menu, then no.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 13 Jun 2007
18:20 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Umm... lol??

I made 3 screenies to show how by the manipulation of 2 variables, I can make it easily extend and move about the screen... I should have some screenshots of things in action with the menu options soon...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 13 Jun 2007
19:29 GMT
Total Posts: 689
LOL indeed. ZOMG, you were confused on that one? WTF!

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 14 Jun 2007
09:55 GMT
Total Posts: 419


This shows different moves each pokemon can know to show up the different menu options. Moving on...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 14 Jun 2007
10:03 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Won't there be numbers next to the moves to show how many you have left?

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 14 Jun 2007
10:07 GMT
Total Posts: 419
When accessing the moves in this regard does not use up PP, so there is no need.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
banjo2E
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 15 Jun 2007
12:59 GMT
Total Posts: 689
Softboiled is a worldmap move?

---
http://uncyclopedia.org/wiki/User:Administrator <------ WOOOOO!!!!!
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 16 Jun 2007
00:10 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
Isn't that a healing move? Maybe you can use it on the map.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 16 Jun 2007
20:21 GMT
Total Posts: 419
From what I have seen it is, I have never had a Chansey though, so I am not sure.

Anywho, been optimizing the crap out of the game, got the new border system in place, and replacing all the line commands to simply store to 4 variables to create the borders. This will also open up a new avenue unavailable to me before, having a couple different borders available for the user to choose.

Edit:

After editing out the line commands, and changing things to variables for 7 boxes, I have shaved off 915 bytes! ^_^

I will see about testing things out again in actual game play, and add a new selectable border.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Jun 2007
10:16 GMT
Total Posts: 419


New border for the awesome border system, enjoy! :)


---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 23 Jun 2007
19:51 GMT
Total Posts: 419


This shows moving system is up and running :)

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 28 Aug 2007
09:51 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Woo! Quad post!! :)

Anywho, some progress. I got a scrolling map going, though obviously no hit detection is active right now. Here be a screenie:



You can also find the file here: The files

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 28 Aug 2007
10:04 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
I recognize that place. ;)

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 29 Aug 2007
05:33 GMT
Total Posts: 419
hehe, I imagine you do ^_^

Well, spent some time last night, a whopping 15 minutes, and implemented hit detection. I merely added to the equations that was in there, and it has slowed it down quite drastically. I believe I may regain my speed by going with If Then End blocks, so I am going to try that and see. And using them, I will be able to make it so it can move from map segment to map segment anyways, so it will work out better in the end. And I also have begun to work on the complexities of making the system dynamic. This should be so much fun... :P

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 5 Sep 2007
09:53 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Well, I finally managed it. I have the map to map linker set up to move up and down between map segments. It should maintain total dynamicness (If that is even a word :P) and will hopefully allow me to go through, and draw out a good portion of the maps. I might even take the time to go through and do ALL the maps now, and just get that out of the way. :) But, anyways, congrats to me for finally getting that portion of the code to work. ^_^ I will be posting a screenshot sometime this evening.

Edit: Screenshot done early.



---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 5 Sep 2007
18:45 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
Looks good, Dan. If you don't mind, though, I have a suggestion: Output a 128-character string on the home screen all at once instead of going one row at a time like that. It would look much cleaner.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
Super Speler
Dragoon
avatar
Posted: 5 Sep 2007
19:12 GMT
Total Posts: 50
haveacalc, it looks cleaner but sacrafices some speed.

---
"My doctor says that I have a malformed public-duty gland and a natural deficiency in moral fibre and that I am therefore excused from saving universes."
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 5 Sep 2007
20:19 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Actually, if you look really, really closely, that is not a 128 char string, that is a string roughly 1000 characters in length. this next one I just finished up is 1700 chars in length, before the program adds the upper and lower boundaries. The way I have it is about the only way to go for now...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 6 Sep 2007
04:03 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
I was talking about the substring that you output to the home screen. Don't try to tell me that you have a line of code like Output(1,1,Str1 if Str1 has 1000 or more characters. :D

8 rows*16 columns=128 places

SS: Nah. It just looks that way because the computing's done all at once and the result's outputted at the very end of the displaying loop, meaning that there's more time at once of it looking unresponsive; The original way displayed something immediately (1st row), but was spread out over the displaying.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 6 Sep 2007
05:37 GMT
Total Posts: 419
no it isnt, but to keep map sizes down, I am using an 8x10 part of the screen, instead of the whole thing. If I were to use the whole screen, that would be 3 more characters to the left and to the right that I would have to add to each map. This also increases the speed of the game by a fairly large factor, displaying only that much at a time.


And while on the subject, I finished the map in Vermilion, and now have to work on route 22, the road to victory road, so I can create the left and right linker routines.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
haveacalc
Guardian
avatar
Posted: 6 Sep 2007
13:59 GMT
Total Posts: 1111
If you have an extra string, store 3 spaces to it and add it to the beginning of each row when compiling the 128-char string, perhaps. Still, I do know what you mean.

---
-quoted directly from most movies that don't exist (and some that do).
Cerulean
Probe
Posted: 6 Sep 2007
20:31 GMT
Total Posts: 9
I registered just to let you know that I'm waiting for a decent Pokemon game for the graphing calculators; more-so as pixel perfect cloning as possible to the original Pokemon games for the Gameboy (Color) with scrolling. The only one that has impressed me so far is that Pokemon Demo for the TI-83/+ with scrolling (in-fact it's graphics and scrolling were quite impressive to me).

Good luck, and I hope you do finish it rather than abandon it, as some in the past have. :)
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 7 Sep 2007
06:26 GMT
Total Posts: 419
There is no way I am going to abandon this project, I have too much into it to give up. ;)

Right now, trying to get the rigt and left linker to work... I think I have a good idea on getting it to work, just have to get the time to implement it...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 14 Sep 2007
08:55 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Hmm, thought I had already posted the latest update here... <.<



Anywho, left and right linker routines complete. Workin on map making right now.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Cerulean
Probe
Posted: 15 Sep 2007
21:23 GMT
Total Posts: 9
You do plan to make it a scroller and replicate the original graphics (ie. buildings, the character, etc) at some point?
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 16 Sep 2007
11:44 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Those are the graphics this game is going to have... It is meant to be ascii map...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Cerulean
Probe
Posted: 16 Sep 2007
14:05 GMT
Total Posts: 9
Ahh, I was hoping just the opposite. Seeing how you did..



..it appeared that you were replicating the graphics altogether to produce a huge 50KB to 90KB game. Original graphics and ASCII don't mix together well. ;( Well, good luck on it though. :o
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 17 Sep 2007
05:48 GMT
Total Posts: 419
The point of this game was to use as little of asm as possible. I have so far succeeded in this by using 2 asm programs. When I am ready to initiate linking, it will require a 3rd.

For menus and battles, I will be using the graphscreen to make it look nicer. But the map is going to be ascii, since it will be smaller and much, much faster to do in pure basic.

And besides, you realize the original was 1MB in size, right?

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 19 Sep 2007
05:55 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Spent time last night changing variables around in the engine and map data programs. This way, once I complete all the maps (will be a slight pain :( ) I can simply send it to the primary calc, my 84+SE without having to edit much of anything. Will be so nice to get this part finished up...

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Cerulean
Probe
Posted: 22 Sep 2007
12:46 GMT
Total Posts: 9
Think you could make it an ASCII-scroller though? :] That'd be something unique.
threefingeredguy
Ghost
avatar
Posted: 22 Sep 2007
18:45 GMT
Total Posts: 1189
It is.

---
Someone call for an exterminator?
Cerulean
Probe
Posted: 23 Sep 2007
13:28 GMT
Total Posts: 9
I don't know what you call it, but to me by the animated screenshots given, it is not a scroller. The whole screen refreshes on every move and is strictly grid based.

Either you're at A1, A2, B1, or B2 -- instead of being able to move pixel to pixel rather than move 16 pixels for every move. My understanding from all examples but this one that I've seen of a scroller is that they are animated one way or another (top view, side view, isometric view, front view).

For example: the famous Pheonix and zMercury games for the TI-86 are scrollers.


Source: http://www.reference.com/search?r=13&q=Scroller
[quote]In computer graphics and television, scrolling or text crawling is the act of sliding a horizontal or vertical presentation of content, such as text, drawings, or images, across a screen or display window. Scrolling is often used to show large amounts of data that could not fit on the viewport all at the same time, this is commonly used in window-based computer displays. The word scroll is derived from the way in which people read scrolls of paper, by rolling up the top of the page and allowing objects lower on the page to move up. Smooth scrolling refers to a scrolling display where text appears smoothly, rather than appearing as a whole line at a time.[/quote]

However I am both wrong and right. What I really meant to suggest was "smooth scrolling," more technically. Forgive me.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 24 Sep 2007
09:38 GMT
Total Posts: 419
It is about as smooth as one could get.

On a side note, I lost progress and had to rewrite a bunch of stuff, the only thing left to readd is the 2nd map program, which should not take terribly long, when I can finally get around to doing it.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 24 Sep 2007
19:16 GMT
Total Posts: 419


Just showing off the scrolling system some more, with another map. :)

http://tifreakware.net/tifreak8x/pokemon/scrollingbackup.gif

In ZGA, change L to 0 to play with more of the maps. ZGA, ZMA, ZRS and RESOURCE need to be unarchived to play around with it.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 29 Sep 2007
06:03 GMT
Total Posts: 419
as you can see, one can now enter houses and use the stairs. :)

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.
Zachary940
Wraith
avatar
Posted: 29 Sep 2007
12:07 GMT
Total Posts: 713
Sweet, can we look in trash cans yet?

---
It is much easier to suggest solutions when you know nothing about the problem.
tifreak8x
Administrator
avatar
Posted: 29 Sep 2007
14:16 GMT
Total Posts: 419
Nope that is still a ways off yet. Working on being able to read the signs right now though.

---
Bringing you Pokemon, for your calculator.


Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7



Portal | My Account | Register | Lost Password or Username | TOS | Disclaimer | Help | Site Search | File Archives Copyright 2002-2011 CalcG.org